Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders

The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM)

The DSM-5 is the handbook used by health care professionals in America to diagnose mental health disorders.    For each disorder contained in the manual, it offers descriptions, symptoms and other criteria that need to be met to gain a diagnosis. 

The DSM was first published in 1952 and is on its fifth edition, published in 2013.    The decisions about diagnosis are made by a panel of experts in the different mental health areas.   The chapters the DSM 5 covers are:

  • Neurodevelopmental Disorders
  • Schizophrenia Spectrum and Other Psychotic Disorders
  • Bipolar and Related Disorders
  • Depressive Disorders
  • Anxiety Disorders
  • Obsessive-Compulsive and Related Disorders
  • Trauma- and Stressor-Related Disorders
  • Dissociative Disorders
  • Somatic Symptom Disorders
  • Feeding and Eating Disorders
  • Elimination Disorders
  • Sleep-Wake Disorders
  • Sexual Dysfunctions
  • Gender Dysphoria
  • Disruptive, Impulse-Control and Conduct Disorders
  • Substance Use and Addictive Disorders
  • Neurocognitive Disorders
  • Personality Disorders
  • Paraphilic Disorders
  • Other Disorders

Contact GP Psychology


Therapy | Supervision | Assessment